Latest album - deeper

  • Label :
    Meteor Records
  • Released :
    May 30, 2018

About Deeper

Nuke the Soup is the current project from Mark Davison, singer/guitarist/songwriter and founding member of Cubic Feet. Fiercely independent before it was cool, Cubic Feet has had a successful run of five albums, the last being the critically acclaimed double album, Then and Now.

Nuke the Soup channels Davison's well-honed rock songwriting craft, bringing his witty, gritty songs to life with a top-notch band: keyboardist Brian Simms, bassist Mike Mennell, guitarists Rennie Grant, Andy Thurston, Gerry "Spooky Ghost" Leonard (David Bowie), and Chester Thompson (Genesis, Zappa) on drums. Deeper (2018) expands on Make Waves Not War (2009), the band's first release. Teaming up with producers Kevin Killen (Bowie, Peter Gabriel, Kate Bush) and Brendan Canty (Fugazi's drummer), Deeper meditates on mortality and its torments and joys. The tone never plunges into darkness but stays remarkably buoyant. The album opens with the media's commercialization of human tragedy ("Network"), only to shift toward a call to turn off the news and engage more powerfully with life and its breakers. The album moves from personal reflections on relationships and aging ("Better Than I Was"), addiction ("Bugs"), and the state of the world ("Island"), to the political send up/love anthem, "Hillary."

"I did not set out to write an album with a recurring theme as dark as mortality, but that's where the muse led. And I followed it deeper and deeper," Davison says. For all the philosophical reflection, however, Nuke the Soup keeps the drive that makes for powerful performances by the band, live and in the studio.

upcoming launch party

WTMD Studio B
Towson, MD


June 1st, 2018

Mark Davison – vocals, guitars
Brian Simms – keyboards, hooter, backing vocals
Rennie Grant – guitars
Andy Thurston – guitars, slide
Gerry Leonard – spooky guitar
Michael Mennell – bass
Chester Thompson – drums
Mark St. Pierre – percussion
Dana Alexandra Zbozien – backing vocals
Sheila Ford – backing vocals
Dave Fairall – sax on track 10
Jimmy Wilson – wind synth on track 10
Alexa Miton – castanets on track 2
Woody Lissauer – guitar, vocals on track 11
Produced by Kevin Killen and Nuke the Soup
Produced by Brendan Canty and Nuke the Soup – 
tracks 2, 3, 5, 6
Recorded at Cubic Studios, Lutherville, MD
Engineers: Kevin Killen, Brendan Canty, Mark Davison
All tracks mixed by Kevin Killen
Mastered at Gateway Mastering by Bob Ludwig
Songs written by Mark Davison / track 11 (Lissauer/Davison)
Songs published by Circular Songs Music, ASCAP
Photography / art direction / design: Steven Parke
Special thanks:  Peter Solley, Keith Larsen, Mark Cisneros, 
Victor Giordano, Ryan Diehl, Richard Josephs, 
Radovan Maricic, and Mitch Treger



Make Waves Not War


Upcoming tours

stay in touch

  • Press

    Rock Paper Scissors

  • Mgmt.

    Business inquiries